Sports Talk at Texas Tech Provides Chance to Meet Terrific Students, Faculty

Monday I gave a lunchtime lecture, “Researching Sports Media When You’re Not a Sports Fan,” in the College of Media and Communication at Texas Tech University in Lubbock.

LUBBOCK, Texas–   Even though I am here for the 12th Engagement Scholarship Consortium on the Texas Tech campus this week, my visit to the new College of Media and Communication building for a lecture Monday is probably what I will remember most.

The Question-and-answer period was one of the best parts of my talk Monday at the Texas Tech College of Media and Communication.
The Question-and-answer period was one of the best parts of my talk Monday at the Texas Tech College of Media and Communication.was what I will remember the most.

My brown bag lecture,  “Researching Sports Media When You’re Not a Sports Fan,” drew a nice crowd of faculty and students interested in sports and media diversity, two topics that have claimed a lot of my scholarly attention this year.

I am so grateful to  Drs. Kent Wilkinson and Weiwu Zhang for inviting me over to talk about my research, even while I’m in town to dialogue on community engagement projects.

What great questions from the doctoral students in the audience Monday!   In the process, I learned about a new NFL rule on hiring that would inform my research.  Another student who graduated from an HBCU has become a new colleague.

And, I got a chance to catch up with two of our  Alabama grads– Glenn Cummins and Kevin Stoker while getting acquainted with a Florida graduate, Trent Seltzer, who chairs the Public Relations and Advertising unit here.  Did I mention, I also re-connected with a fellow UGA grad, Geoffrey Graybeal, who’s the media entrepreneurship guru at Texas Tech.

Even though Texas Tech is one of the original Big 12 schools,  there’s a whole lot of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) sown into the faculty just in the College of Media and Communication alone.

I will recap some of the points of my talk over on the Alabama SportsCom blog a little later.

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

