It’s Time to Pause and Reflect On One Who Arrived in this World 42 Years Ago Today

It was 42 years ago today that I came into this world. Photographs are great reminders of where we’ve been. These are just a few of the shots I’ve taken over the years.

1970-Richmond, Va.
1989-Richmond, Va.
1997-Atlanta, Ga.
2000-Hamburg, Germany
2006-Provo, UT
2011-Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Photographs are great tools for remembering where you’ve been.

Today as I celebrate the 42nd anniversary of my birth, I utilize these  images captured on film and disk to recall the steps taken along this journey called life.

My faith tells me that it is God who has ordered my steps.

My values tell me that it’s the people in this life whom we touch who are most important.

Each one of these images represents a place where  God has allowed me to touch someone’s life.

Taking no single day for granted, I look forward to the next 42 years.

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

1 thought on “It’s Time to Pause and Reflect On One Who Arrived in this World 42 Years Ago Today”

Leave a Reply

