Can I really take a technology vacation?

From August 17 to August 24th, George Daniels is taking a six-day technology vacation.

I may look like I'm sleeping, but I was tweeting here in 2009 at the Intercollegiate Online News Network Conference at University of Tennessee. Now, help me as I take a sabbatical, No Tweeting for 6 days !

Hey, this was supposed to be my one week of vacation at the end of the summer.

I just wrapped up a great AEJMC Conference in St. Louis after finishing an engaging Race, Gender and Media class at the University of Alabama in July after teaching a 4-week basic news reporting class also at UA during the month of June.

My goal was to relax this week and re-charge so that I can be refreshed for the start of a new school year.

But it’s Wednesday and I’ve done more posting and reading e-mail, planning for classes and WORKING online, even though I’m away from the office supposedly on “VACATION.”

So I’ve decided that I have to CUT off and unplug the computer and stay away from my blog if I really want to relax and get some other fun things done during my time off.

Starting tonight at midnight– Wednesday,August 17, I am going to just let my e-mailbox go and not blog, not tweet, read or post on Facebook.

My self-imposed technology moratorium will end at midnight NEXT Wednesday, August 24th, the first day of fall classes at University of Alabama.

I promise I’ll tell you all about it on my next post– NEXT Wednesday!

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

