Daniels Seeks Second Term on SPJ Board

George Daniels announced his bid for re-election to the Society of Professional Journalists National Board of Directors.

ATLANTA–  It is somewhat ironic that from the city where I spent much of my career as a broadcast journalist, I am announcing today my bid for re-election to the national board of the nation’s largest, most broad–based organization for journalists.

It’s been my pleasure to serve the last two years as the campus adviser at-large for the Society of Professional Journalists National Board.   And, I want the opportunity to continue to serve the more than 8,000 members of this great organization another two years.

Over the next two-and-a-half months, I will provide some additional updates on my plans for another term.  As a broadcast journalist, I love using the tool of video to share my thoughts on different issues.   Nowadays I am able to do that even from another gathering here in Georgia’s state capital as I am in town talking with social media enthusiasts at a church convention this week.

If you look back to a blog post two years ago this month when I announced my intentions to run for the SPJ Board of Directors, I expressed a desire as a candidate in 2009  to be “actively engaged in discussions about how SPJ can collaborate with our journalism organizations to keep our members on the cutting edge with jointly-sponsored training events and conventions.”

I’m excited to see those discussions that involved our SPJ National officers and staff and those of us on the board result in Excellence in Journalism 2011.   The joint convention is REALLY special for me as I have been a member of both the Radio-TV Digital News Association and the Society of Professional Journalists.

I’ll address some of the other initiatives I want to pursue in the coming year later this summer.

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

