Gilbert Morris Interview Caps A Week of Wisdom from Senior Writers

This week I had the pleasure of interviewing and meeting both Curtis Hallman, a prolific letter writer and Gilbert Morris, who has authored 228 novels in 18 years.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. Gilbert Morris, during his May 27th visit to the Tuscaloosa Public LIbrary.

This week I managed to sit at the feet of two senior writers, each of whom have made significant contributions to two different area of media.

The wisdom of Gilbert Morris and Curtis Hallman will stay with me for a long time.

This morning, I had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. Gilbert Morris, who is literally twice my age.  But, at 82, this former college professor is more productive than most people will be in a lifetime.

He’s written 228 novels, which he has figured is about one novel a month for 18 years.  And, that’s after he retired once as a pastor and again as an English professor at Ouachita Baptist University.

Setting up the camera and just having a conversation, I didn’t know what to expect in talking with Dr. Morris.

What I got were some  real important tips about writing and an earful about why one has to be persistent.

His story was more inspirational than any I’ve received from an inspirational author.

I first heard Dr. Morris speak about 10 years ago at the Southern Christian Writers Conference, when it was held at Samford University in Birmingham.

What a delight to be re-acquainted with him today– professor-to-professor during an interview at the Tuscaloosa Public Library.

An Encounter with a Veteran Letter Writer

The Tuscaloosa Public LIbrary also happened to be the setting for more insight and information earlier this week at the Tuscaloosa Christian Writers Meeting (I’m a member of this group, which meets monthly usually on fourth Tuesdays)

Curtis Hallman has been writing letters to the editor to The Tuscaloosa News since 1993.   He’s never been turned down by the 30,000+ circulation daily.

He believes doing things like writing letters to the editor is part of his calling as a Christian.

“I’m just an amateur writer,” he modestly told the dozen or so writers who attended his talk on Tuesday. “As Christian writers, I feel we have a responsibility.”

What’s most interesting about this man who’s written about everything from politics and the Fox News Channel to the O.J. Simpson trial and prayer in school,

“I don’t know I’ve ever saved anybody’s life, but I know I’ve kept somebody’s dog from being shot,” Hallman said as he recalled some of his letters that focused on gun safety during hunting season.

He himself is a hunter .

His writing continues even after he survived cancer TWICE.

Most recently, he was transported to a hospice and battle through his illness, returned home to pick up his pen and write more letters on topics of interest in 2011.

While he has a cell phone, he has given up his computer and only sends handwritten letters

His old computer was attacked twice by two different viruses.

Hallman inspired me to be more prolific in my own writing.  He left me with much to think about as I plan for my future writing endeavors.

Both Hallman and Morris provided much food for thought.

I only hope and pray that I will be able to be alive and well still writing and still speaking about my work when I get to be both of their ages.

To God Be the Glory for the way he is using BOTH of these gentlemen!

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

