We’re Getting Set for Five Days, Four Nights in the Hoosier State

As if serving on the Society of Professional Journalists National Board has not brought me to Indianapolis, home of SPJ, enough, I have another reason to visit the Hoosier State next week– a weeklong learning experience at Indiana’s largest urban university.

“Connecting Campuses with Communities” is an important step in augmenting the service learning courses that I teach here at the University of Alabama.  Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis (IUPUI)  has the Award-winning Center for Service Learning.

That Center is hosting the Service Learning Institute followed by the IUPUI Research Academy.   It’s an honor to have been accepted to both activities and to have the opportunity to learn while I grow both the teaching I do here at Bama and the research that I produce as a scholar.

We’ll be taking lots of notes even as we take in the Indiana’s Capital City from a different vantagepoint.

Usually when I go to Indianapolis, it’s on business for SPJ.   But, this time I’ll be focusing on a different aspect of what I’ll do.

I’m taking along a camera and hoping to chronicle as much of the experience as I can here.  Starting Monday, my goal: at least a picture and a post for each of the five days.

For now, it’s time to pack my bags for the trip.

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

