I’ve Watched the Sun Rise Over the Arkansas River

Waking up on the Arkansas River here in downtown Little Rock.

LITTLE ROCK– Even though I’m only here for 14 hours,  I am sure glad I made it my business to get up early and do an early morning walk along the Arkansas River in order to see the sun rise.

The sun rises on the Arkansas River as morning traffic crosses on the I-30 Bridge.

This was my second time walking along this great waterway.   Seems it takes an academic conference to get me to this city.  The last time I was on an overnight stopover on the way to a convention in Kansas City.

What’s different this time is I managed to get some great photos of the Little Rock downtown skyline and a couple of six bridges that cross the Arkansas River.   One of those bridges, The Broadway Bridge is right in front of the window from my hotel, The Doubletree, which looks out on the River.

The Robinson Center is adjacent to our hotel. It was nice to see the welcome sign when I arrived last night.

I’m in the Capital City of the Natural State today for the Southern States Communication Association Annual Convention.

Besides participating in a panel discussion about the Journalists and PR practitioners working together in covering the Albert Pike Flood,  I have another mission this morning: to check in on the Clinton Presidential Library.   My parents and I visited here in 2003, before the Library opened.  They’ve requested a souvenir.

We’ll hope to oblige in a short 90-minute window this morning before a session at 11 a.m.

In between that visit and my session, there’s a great session on social media coming up this morning.  I am hoping to capture some highlights of that session in an update here on BAMAPRODUCER later today.

Junction Bridge

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

