Facebook Photos Worth Sharing and Remembering

I don’t log on to Facebook very often.

At least, not as of today.   I was talking about social media today in my Introduction to Journalism class and one of my students had the nerve to tell me that TWITTER was a “Waste of Time”

Can you believe this guy?

I finally came around to the fact that everyone has different uses for social media.  I have more of a use for Twitter than I do Facebook.

But, when I logged onto Facebook tonight, I realized that I had several dozen friend requests, including one from my 9th grade Health teacher.

I also clicked accidentally into an area that had photos where I had been TAGGED.

So, it was a chance to reminisce about events in 2010, even as the first month of 2011 is winding down.

MEMORIES OF SPJ 2010 in VEGAS

As one of the members of the Society of Professional Journalists National Board, I presented Mark of Excellence Awards at our National Convention in Las Vegas last September. This as one of the photos from that event.

Las Vegas has never been one of my favorite places to visit.   I’m not a gambler and I don’t  drink or smoke.  So  I always feel out of place in those smoke-filled gaming venues.

But, this past October, it was different.  I had the chance to play a different role in the Society of Professional Journalists Convention.   As a new member of the National Board of Directors, I had a more active role in the SPJ Convention and it was neat.

The opportunity to present student journalism awards was one of those special places on the SPJ Convention program.

I’m ashamed to admit that I don’t remember the names of most of the recipients.  But, I’m thankful that someone thought enough to share this one on Facebook.

The University of Florida's SPJ President Ashley Hemmy accompanied me to a great night at the Indianapolis Indians baseball game. This was one of the memories from that night out during our Scripps Leadership Weekend in Indianapolis in June. We had a blast. I always love going to Indianapolis.

INDIANAPOLIS TRIP #2

I made two trips to Indiana’s Capital City in 2010.

One of them was for the spring board member of the Society of Professional Journalists, which is headquartered there.

But, in June, I had the opportunity to return for a fabulous leadership training weekend.   As one of the facilitators for the Scripps Leadership Weekend, I got the wonderful chance to work with college campus chapters for SPJ via their up-and-coming leadership for 2010-2011.

Not only did we have a chance to work, but we had some play time too.  One of our evening outings was to an Indianapolis Indians Baseball game.

It’s a chance for those of us in the Southeastern Conference to put our SEC rivalries aside and have some fun.   I’m always excited to hang out with the SPJers from our other SEC schools— The University of Florida being chief among them.   UF has an outstanding SPJ chapter is a model for the nation.    One day  those of us at Alabama would like to be where UF’s  SPJ Chapter is now.

Hats off to the folks in Gainsville for what they do for SPJ!

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

