Did the First Alabama gubernatorial debate cement your Nov. 2 voting decision?

The first Gubernatorial Debate last Thursday at the University of Alabama left me with more questions than answers about who I’ll vote for November 2.

After much hype and excitement here on the University of Alabama campus last week about us hosting the first gubernatorial debate,  I was very underwhelmed and unimpressed by what I heard from the candidates themselves.

While my journalism students tweeted away and wrote updates about the big event at Moody Concert Hall,  I sat watching the actual comments of the candidates and waited to hear substance, specifics and a real reason to vote for one candidate or the other.

Instead, I was left with confusion.   I don’t REALLY know why one candidate just rubs me the wrong way and the other has so many positions with which I fundamentally disagree.

Later this week, Alabama Public Radio and WVUA-TV are going to provide some programs to feature what others in the audience watching the Tuscaloosa debate thought about the candidates’ positions.

This entire election cycle in Alabama has been a little weird as I thought a lot of the issues have not been quite at the forefront.   Some of the statewide candidates have been unimpressive.

When the results of  the primary elections were finally decided this summer, I thought I had a candidate for whom I could vote.  Now, as the general election nears, I’m not so sure.

Guess I will have to make the trip to Auburn for the October 19th debate to help me make up my mind.

For now, I’ll be visiting the Ron Sparks Web site and the Robert Bentley Web site to research their positions a little further.

Author: George Daniels

George L. Daniels is an associate professor of journalism at the University of Alabama. After spending eight years in the local television newsroom working as a producer at stations in Richmond, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; and Atlanta, Georgia, Daniels moved from the newsroom to the classroom. He’s conducted research on diversity issues in the media workplace and change in the television newsroom as well as media convergence. Before going to work in television news, Daniels worked briefly as a freelance writer for The Richmond Free Press in his hometown of Richmond, Va.

Leave a Reply

