Artur Davis, Charlie Crist Keep My Political Interest, Speak Their Mind

This is probably the first and only time I will comment on politics here on this blog.   Since I was a kid, I’ve loved to watch politics.    That’s one of the reasons I became a journalist.

The two political figures who prompted me to post– Artur Davis and Charlie Crist– were two moderates within their respective parties, one of whom has decided to change parties.

Political junkies like me are salivating as we prepare to a feast for the next two weeks with the quadrennial political conventions.   It’s  appointment TV for me first from Tampa and next week from Charlotte.

Charlie Crist

After reading Former Florida Republican Gov. Charlie Crist’s endorsement of Barack Obama in today’s Tampa Bay Times,  I was reminded of my former Congressman Artur Davis’ change of political heart.

Davis represented me as a resident of Alabama’s Seventh Congressional District for most of the time that I’ve been here.

After losing his bid for Alabama governor, he ironically moved to my home state of Virginia.   But, that’s not the biggest change he made.

He signed up with the Republican Party.

I’m neither Republican nor Democrat.  Last decade, as  resident of Metro Atlanta, I voted for Former House Speaker Newt Gingrich when he was my congressman in Georgia’s old Sixth Congressional District (which has since been redrawn).  But, I’ve also voted for Democrats in other elections.

Artur Davis

As a journalist, I like to cover a good story.

Even though BuzzMachine’s Jeff Jarvis says cash-strapped newsrooms ought not send reporters to cover the political conventions,  I still think there are great stories to be found in Tampa and Charlotte.

I wish I could be there gathering them firsthand.

Artur Davis speaking at the GOP Convention this week in Tampa will be a GREAT STORY.

I like a man who will speak his mind, regardless of what side of the political aisle he stands.

“I see more alignment, more philosophical compatibility, with the Republican Party than I do the Democratic Party,” Obama told National Public Radio in an interview back in June.

The so-called “Obama of Alabama” will be singing a very different tune about his Harvard classmate this week in Tampa.

We know that he’s going to support Mitt Romney, but we don’t know how he’s going to say it.

Today’s op-ed by Charlie Crist was a surprise to me.  I’ve never met the man.  But, it keeps the entire political convention week  interesting and exciting.

Birmingham News columnist John Archibald said last week that as far as Alabama is concerned, this will be the “Alabama’s most boring election season ever.”   His point was based on our state not being “in play” as nine of 10 voters have already decided to support Romney.

The fact is most of the 50 states are not “in play.”   Our country is more polarized politically than ever.

What ever happened to voting for the BEST MAN (or woman) for the JOB regardless of party?

That’s what America is supposed to be all about.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

